823 UN Plaza Suite 717
New York, NY 10017
Tel: 212-661-0480
Fax: 212-661-0416

35th Annual International Human Rights Awards, September 22, 2004: League Honors President Abdoulaye Wade of Senegal at the Waldorf-Astoria

New York, Sept. 22- This evening, the International League for Human Rights hosted the 35th Annual Human Rights Award Ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria. During this historic event, President Abdoulaye Wade of Senegal was presented with the prestigious Human Rights Award by Ambassador Andrew Young, Honorary Chairman of the Ceremony.

(Text of President Wade's Acceptance Speech)

Award Ceremony
Award Ceremony. Left to right: Abdoulaye Wade, Andrew Young, Louise Kantrow, Scott Horton

The International League recognized President Wade's relentless pursuit of human rights, steadfast sense of social justice, and profound political conviction. President Wade is an African leader of great courage and accomplishment who patiently traveled the road of democracy over the course of 26 years. His tireless work has greatly advanced human rights and promoted economic development in Senegal and throughout Africa. Mr. Wade will join a distinguished list of past recipients including Roger Baldwin, Andrei Sakharov, Elie Wiesel, Jimmy Carter, Mary Robinson, Jacobo Timerman, Mstislav Rostropovich, and the Dalai Lama.

The celebration included a cocktail reception followed by a formal

Award Ceremony
Reception Before Ceremony. Left to right: Foreign Minister of France Michel Barnier, Mrs. Annan, President of Djibouti Ismail Guelleh, UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, Mrs. Wade, President of Madagascar Marc Ravalomanana, President Aristides Pereira of Cape Verde, President of Senegal Abdoulaye Wade, President of the Comoros Azali Assoumani

dinner, musical performance, and award presentation. In a show of support for President Wade's work, many world leaders attended the event. These special guests included United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan, the Heads-of-States from Algeria, Comoros, Cout d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Madagascar, Malawi, Rwanda and Zambia, the French Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Thai Vice Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Chairperson Africa Union and the U.S. Undersecretary for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor. The highliohgt of the evening included performances by renowned West African musicians Youssou N'Dour and Baaba Maal.

Since its founding in 1941, the International League for Human Rights has worked to keep human rights at the forefront of international affairs and to give meaning and effect to the values enshrined in international human rights treaties. The League's mission is to defend human rights advocates who risk their lives to promote the ideals of a just and civil society.

Award Ceremony
Performance by Senegal's best-known musicians, Youssou N'Dour and Baaba Maal


The League is a non-profit organization that annually hosts the high-profile fundraiser to celebrate human rights leaders who make a difference in the global community. All proceeds from the event will directly support the League's work.

Nicole Y. Ferris
Director of Development
International League for Human Rights
(212)661-0480 ext: 109


© Copyright 2001, International League for Human Rights